Skip to content

Love . . .

February 14, 2012

Yes, I shall conform to the V-Day blog postings and rants going on around the country right now. I know, I know “Not another one”. However I promise readers, if there are readers… that this one will not be like all the others, about how great Valentine’s Days is or how it’s all a conspiracy made by the card and candy companies. No, I’ve thought about this entry all day. Granted it is only 2:55pm, but still. My focus is going to be on love. I know, how cliche of myself. Since this is a fairytale blog though I decided to take a break from my Beauty and the Beast entry to focus on this for a little bit to talk about this.

Love… What all fairytales are made of, besides you know, most the Grimms’ fairytales and some of Hans Christian Andersen’s. Mostly the disney ones are made of this anyway. Love is what almost everyone longs for and searches for in their life. Someone to spend the rest of their lives with, to connect with, to care for, to love. That’s all fine, there’s no problem with that. Some people though, spend all of their lives searching for love they don’t see what’s right in front of them. We’re all victim to that, taking for granted what we have. It’s human nature. I feel though…that people in general should focus more on being content with what and who they have in their lives.

I’m blessed to have both of my parents in my life as well as my sister who I do love. Even though we argue a lot. I also have my grandma in my life to an extremely close content, my parents and sister live with her. Before my move to Topeka (and Manhattan,) I lived in Kansas City, KS. While in KC I had a lot of things, I had a lot of people that cared about me. I believe I took that for granted a lot of the time though. I didn’t always show love when I could have or should have. It wasn’t until after moving to Topeka that I realized what I lost. I had no youth group to go to, no church family, no friends. I had family though, which at times wasn’t always so great…

Putting that aside though, family is important. I know not everyone’s family is the greatest and some people don’t even have family but…it’s important that we don’t take people for granted. We don’t always know how long someone’s life is on this planet, let alone our own. So…when I was thinking about this blog post, I pictured it being a bit longer. Kind of like my seven page one I wrote about music’s impact on myself (http://thosedreamlessnights.blogspot.com/). Oh well, it’s quality that’s important, not quantity. At least that’s what people say. It is true, you can write twenty pages but unless it’s good writing, means something, has an impact or someone, or you like it for some reason…it’s worthless. Not to say bad writing isn’t…good in a way too. It is. It’s a learning process.

So…I guess what I’m trying to say is instead of being upset because you’re lonely and it feels like everyone besides you has someone, which is not the case at all, I promise, you should focus on who you do have in your life. Go hang out with a friend, get coffee, that’s what I’m doing in a little bit. Go visit a family member, tell them you love them. Surprise someone you haven’t seen in a while. Don’t stay at home being sad, it isn’t worth it. It doesn’t make things better.

For those that are quite happy today to the point that you make people want to commit mass murder, okay, I exaggerate, a bit, cherish moments like this. As I’ve said before, you don’t know how long your loved one’s life or your own is. Remember these moments during times when you fight. Don’t take this day for granted. Don’t also expect something really amazing because today is Valentine’s Day. If it happens, great. I’m not saying don’t not expect anything just…don’t get your hopes up so much that you’ll be let down.

Well, I ended up actually talking about Valentine’s Day, I guess I did conform. My sincerest apologies. I’m going to post this passage, I know, so cliche, but so true.

1 Corinthians 13:3-8a

If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast, but do not have love, I gain nothing.

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud.  It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.  Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

Love never fails

“If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my bodty to hardship that I may boast, but do not have love, I gain nothing”

Love is so important, without love there’s no reason to live. Seriously. It doesn’t matter if it’s your family’s, your friends’, or your spouse/boyfriend or girlfriend’s love. It only matters that you have it and cherish it. It does not matter how many charities you donate too, how many mission trips you go on, how much money you raise, how much community service you’ve done. If you do not have love, it’s worthless, you’re not doing it with a joyful heart which is what matters.

God’s love is the only love like this. God is the only One like this. He is always patient and kind. Especially with humans, we sin a lot, we do a lot of bad things. That doesn’t stop God from loving us though and that is the amazing thing about it all. God does not envy unless it’s over us dedicating our time to someone or something else other than Him. God does not boast or is proud. God doesn’t dishonor or self seek. He is not easily angered, He keeps no record or wrongs.

None. When we repent and accept Jesus into our hearts, it’s over with. God doesn’t remember them anymore. That is amazing. God doesn’t enjoy evil, He doesn’t enjoy bad things happening to us or around the world. It’s the opposite actually. God rejoices with the truth. God always protects, always trusts, always hopes and always perseveres. With Jesus’ example from His time on earth, we should strive to be like Him. To love, trust, hope, persevere, be kind, be humble, and patient. We should listen before we speak, really understand what another person is saying before losing our patience with them. We should watch what we say to others because someone is always watching. I know this from first hand experiences. Overall…

Love never fails, God never fails.

Now go, love, cherish, and remember yourself, family, friends, and life. Don’t take people for granted, remember God, trust Him, love Him. Remember God’s ultimate showing of love by having Jesus’ come down and die on the cross for humankind.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

