Skip to content

There must be more to this provincial life…

February 14, 2012

I started this blog months ago (April 28th…) but never actually made a posting. I’ve been looking for it though and I finally found it.I will just go over some basic information and what this blog will be about.

My name is Amber, I am 20 and a sophomore in college in the lovely state of Kansas where it just snowed last night. It’s such a lovely sight…when you don’t have to walk through it to get to class, well, it is for some people…I’m not one of them obviously. Anyway, I’m an undecided major and not sure what I’m going to be doing next year. I’ll probably be living back at…home…and getting a job or doing online classes… *sighs* It’s been a good almost two years here though. I’m not exactly ready to go back home… Oh, the reason why I may have to go home after college this semester is because I don’t have anyone to be roommates with so I can’t get an apartment… I feel like I just wasted two of my years of life here… Kind of.

On to the rest of the blog, enough about me…

I will be posting about fairytales, old adaptions and news. So Disney’s Beauty and The Beast and Beastly and other movies like that. I will also be discussing Hans Christian Andersen’s work and the Brothers Grimm fairytale collection. Along with fairytales I will be talking about various mythology ranging from Japanese to Greek to Rome to the King Arthur and Camelot legends. So I’m really excited to start.

I am going to talk about why I have started this blog. I have always loved fairytales from since I was a child. Beauty and The Beast was my favorite and I would watch it dozens of times a day, literally. I’m sorry, I’m speaking of the Disney film version, I should have mentioned that. Anyway, I love the opening song in Beauty and the Beast called “Belle”. For me that song just sets the tone of the rest of the movie, it reminds me of fairytales and just really showed that it was going to be that kind of movie. I mean obviously, with the title Beauty and The Beast, but it just really spoke to me and I knew this was going to be a classic in my eyes.

Starting from even the beautiful prologue in the movie, I think that set the tone even more than Belle’s song. I love the narrator’s voice and the scenery of this scene. I love how they used stained glass windows to tell the story. It showed so much without having a lot of specific scenes. When i hear the narration my heart just gets excited with wondering what’s going to happen and who is going to come and break the spell.

I just love how fluidly the narration and Belle’s song flow together. It just screams fairytale and enchantment to me. I love how they show the towns people and the different things going on. I think the reason I love Beauty and the Beast so much is because like Belle, I love books. I used to always read books growing up and I felt more connected to them than actual people at time. I also never really fit in with the kids at school or anything like that. “There much be more to this provincial life”. How often I long to sing that… I dream of traveling the world going from Europe to Asia to Africa to Australia and South America…documenting all I see and do…

I’ll end this post here and  come back to it later today, it’s after 12.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 29, 2012 4:49 am

    The opening narrative prologue gives me chills! Such a great voiceover and beautifully illustrated. It sets such a great tone for the film.

Leave a Reply

