Skip to content

Brave Trailer

February 25, 2012

From the creators of classics such as the Toy Story trilogy, Pixar presents its latest work, Brave.  This is Pixar’s first fairytale and is supposed to be a  darker and more mature than its previous films. This will be interesting to see because of the events that occurred in Toy Story 3. The tagline is “It is the one thing we must always be…” February 23rd the second trailer was released which is basically a longer scene of the previous one. We see the relationship between Merida and her parents more clearly. It seems she gets along with her father more than her mother. We also see further in this scene the circumstances of the arrow shooting. It’s a nice preview shooting (no pun intended). This movie is set to be released June 22, 2012 in the United States.  I’ll admit when I first saw the trailer I was thinking “Oh man, it’s going to be a How To Train Your Dragon rip off’. I can now say I’m a bit more pleasantly surprised. It looks interesting.

The original title of this film was The Bear and the Bow, I’m not a real fan of name changes as was with Rapunzel becoming Tangled. I really don’t care about whether or not the creators are trying to reach boys or whatever, sad to say, I know. I guess they changed it because the story wasn’t just about Rapunzel so naming it that would have been…pointless, I guess…I don’t really know. I just feel like they should leave the title alone. I’m curious though about the plot because of the bear in the old title.

Now, the film synopsis is…

“Since ancient times, stories of epic battles and mystical legends have been passed through the generations across the rugged and mysterious Highlands of Scotland. In Brave, a new tale joins the lore when the courageous Merida (Kelly Macdonald) confronts tradition, destiny and the fiercest of beasts. Merida is a skilled archer and impetuous daughter of King Fergus (Billy Connolly) and Queen Elinor (Emma Thompson). Determined to carve her own path in life, Merida defies an age-old custom sacred to the uproarious lords of the land: massive Lord MacGuffin (Kevin McKidd), surly Lord MacIntosh (Craig Ferguson) and cantankerous Lord Dingwall (Robbie Coltrane). Merida’s actions inadvertently unleash chaos and fury in the kingdom, and when she turns to an eccentric old Wise Woman (Julie Walters) for help, she is granted an ill-fated wish. The ensuing peril forces Merida to discover the meaning of true bravery in order to undo a beastly curse before it’s too late.” (http://disney.go.com/brave/#/about/)

I’m happy to see the change in setting for Disney’s latest movies. Tangled seemed to be set in a modern time period however with the clothing, music, the word ruffians, mention of the plague…I feel it’s a bit medieval. Going back to Brave, with the music, the clothes, the events, it’s taking place in Scotland. Obviously. I just like the different places and time periods going on in the movies. Now I really like this girl. She seems feisty and not one to take orders or do whatever people expect of her. That’s great, in some cases.

She seems somewhat reminiscent to Mulan and Pocahontas, doing what they need to, going after what they want, not just sitting back waiting for something to happen. It’s refreshing and there is no love story to be seen. Hallelujah. ;) There’s still time for one to be developed though which I’m sure will become the subplot, unfortunately. Though this is Pixar, there may be no love interest throughout the whole movie, now that would be amazing…and a first. No offense to Disney of course. I love them. I love Merida’s name. I’m curious about the wish she’s going to make. This reminds me of The Little Mermaid and we all know how that wish turned out…Or for those who don’t, will in a future blog post. :)

According to LA times, Brenda Chapman, Pixar’s first female director spent six years working on Brave. She was basing this story off her and her daughter’s relationship. She also considered this to be a fairytale in the tradition of Hans Christian Andersen and the Brothers Grimm. If this is still true I’m very intrigued in seeing the turn out because she was replaced by Andrews due to “creative differences”. This makes me extremely, extremely upset. Pixar has never had a film starring a female, I’m very curious as to why exactly Chapman was replaced. It’s very interesting that she was replaced being Pixar’s first female director and this being Pixar’s first female starred movie. I’m hoping Andrews doesn’t mess up Chapman’s vision badly. I will now forever wonder what her vision for the film was. She will still be credited as one of two directors for the film though. I’ve also heard there’s no bad blood between her and she’s still doing okay with the Pixar company.

I’m liking the music. The composer of Henry V and  Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, Patrick Doyle will be doing the score. He will be trying to bring a bit of Scotish feel to the music, resisting on using bagpipes until he sees what is going on (http://www.scotsman.com/news/scotland_s_pixar_tale_hits_the_right_note_1_1714496).

Overall, I’m very excited for this film and hoping I won’t be letdown too badly.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 25, 2012 2:34 am

    Finally a film where they actually show someone shooting an arrow correctly! Yes!

Leave a Reply

